Friday Question: Ladies Can we Talk About High-Heels?


I was rushing to get  into the train station like the chick one person in front of me. She was wearing high heels, and unfortunately due to discounted margaritas at Panchito’s, lost her balance. I haven’t seen a blonde take a spill like that outside of a specific genre of Adult movies. It was bad. You remember in the old Action movies of the 80’s where a car after some explosion just keeps rolling and rolling etc. It was like that.

Luckily there were some people behind me who saw the whole thing happen. If there was no one behind me I would have been hesitant to help due to my fear of interacting with Caucasian women late at night, and getting locked up and butt-raped for some trumped-up charges but that is something else.

So let’s Talk about High Heels

1363439141_louboutins3Maybe it’s my french heritage, I love  looking at broads in high heels that cost more than my monthly wages. I am partial to Louboutins – not to the shoe but the chick in the shoes. However it’s not so big a deal. I wonder why given all the evidence that high heels causes physical harm  do women still wear them. Statistics show that high heels are one of the biggest factors leading to foot problems in women, with up to a third suffering permanent problems as a result of prolonged wear.  Extended wearing of high heels and continually bending your toes into an unnatural position can cause a range of ailments, from ingrown toenails to irreversible damage to leg tendons. Additionally, cramming your toes into a narrow toe box can cause nerve damage and bunions. High heels have also been linked to overworked or injured leg muscles, osteoarthritis of the knee, plantar fasciitis and low back pain.

Why Wear them?

6a011570ba898c970c0120a8aa05df970b-500piThis question is up there with why do women go out to events in the winter, dressed in ways that offer no protect from the cold. Are they expecting someone to give them their coat ? – Given the cost of inflation when it comes to sexual commodities like coitus and the rise in the cost of living, no one’s going to like you enough during a polar vortex to give you their coat.

But that is not what this post is about. I just want to know why do you wear high heels. I’m pretty sure this is not a case where the licentious and unrestrained libido of the male collective hypnotizes and forces you to ignore reason, gravity, pain receptors and just overindulge in our wayward and abberant fantasies.

*** Please keep in mind I an a NY’er. So I see high heels fairly often if you live in a farming community or some really rural or underdeveloped place then don’t worry about it.

14 thoughts on “Friday Question: Ladies Can we Talk About High-Heels?

  1. What a torture it is to wear high heels, I agree. But what you may not know is the minute we ladies step on them and start walking, we just feel…different. I can’t explain; it’s like magic – or it could be all about the confidence it accords us. Pretty much the same reason why most women are fond of putting on red lipstick and wearing silly skimpy frilly lingerie.

    But I also fancy you already know that, Dave: You’re ultra smart and sensitive. 😉

    Like

    1. Ola Marjie!!!!,

      It’s nice to hear from ya! Lately I have been seeing a lot of women trying to walk with high heels after a couple of drinks on the train and they remind me of the giraffes I used to see at the zoo like very awkward looking when they walked. I get what you are saying about confidence and the magic, I feel it every time I wear my Superman T-shirt 🙂 I am just kidding but I know what you mean. I am not going to deny that when worn correctly they are quite sexy same for the frilly lingerie and red lipstick. I also think platforms and wedges are quite sexy as well.

      I think logically it bugged me, like kamikaze pilots that wore helmets etc

      Like

  2. I guess I wear heels cause they look nice and also I’m short! I used to wear beautiful, towering stilletos but now, at my old age, I prefer flats usually. I only wear heels now if I’m going out to dinner or somewear I’m not on my feet much. If dancing is involved it’s flats all the way.

    Like

    1. Hey Evie,

      How short are you just in case we have to do a waltz together to save both Oz and the USA. I’m pretty sure you’re still quite young as you don’t have a cynical out look at all that is indicative of growing older.

      Like

  3. Most women wear high heels because guys like them; they feel sexy and attractive in them because that’s what they’re told is sexy and attractive. Me, I wear flats/Converse high tops as much as humanly possible, and I only put on my one pair of very sensible heels (about an inch high, thick heel) for things like job interviews.

    Like

    1. Dude I love the converse and high tops You seem to have an eclectic style about ya. I have never had the occasion to put on sensible heels, maybe I can be a nurse next Halloween. but I like your sensible and practical approach

      Like

Leave a Reply

