Is Quoting Bukowski & hiding in the Bathroom to masturbate at home the way to go Crazy?


bukowski2DISCLAIMER: This post may offend as I haven’t edited it for political correctness. If in the event you are offended I would like to take the time and effort to personally offend you, so that you will forever know the difference between feigning outrage at an opinion you don’t agree with and actually being purposely insulted.


One of the most attractive qualities a person can have is authenticity. Authenticity is rare, which is why it is so highly prized. The difficulty with authenticity or acquiring it, is that it involves us thinking for ourselves, taking charge of our own lives and finally living our truths. Lately I have been seeing a lot of people referencing this particular Bukowski quote:

58a87bb8f024ea45155f8f7554c25691

There is inherently nothing wrong with quoting Bukowski. However what irks me is that the people who quote him so often seem to be the very same people Bukowski warned us about associating with.

  1. beware the preachers
  2. beware the knowers
  3. beware those who are always reading books
  4. beware those who either detest poverty or are proud of it
  5. beware those quick to praise for they need praise in return
  6. beware those who are quick to censor they are afraid of what they do not know
  7. beware those who seek constant crowds for they are nothing alone
  8. beware the average man the average woman
  9. beware their love, their love is average seeks average

And please don’t misunderstand me.  I am writing about  a trend I see a lot in blogs as well as in my daily life. Let me summarize it for you:

The more profound the desperation and or mediocrity in certain person’s life the more they they to conceal their emptiness with affixing to themselves bits of someone else’s legacy like some demented type of merit badge.

There are so many unhappy people who have lost the thread tying  them to that longing for that something we can never put into words. It took me some time to realize that no one can make me happy, no relationship can fulfill me 100%, no paycheck will every be large enough for me to fulfill every single desire. I recognize and live with that longing and that longing has opened me up to so many new things.

It’s one thing to draw inspiration and live vicariously through the works of another person. It’s another thing to shield one’s self from reality using someone’s work. That’s my main point.

What do you feel going crazy means?

To lively crazy to me, and I could be fucked up, is  to be vulnerable and open. To not lie to oneself’s about life, how things are, about our mortality. Bukowski wrote and for a long time lived at the fringes of our society. Being crazy means being honest and not bringing a laptop into a bar, or walking  with a Starbucks coffee cup so people know we drink at Starbucks (yes this fucking happens). I just find so much of our society fake and of course people full of shit.

  1. Is it having a nice house, and kids who you love but who’s presence in your life has sodomized your dreams and spirit into dank submission ?
  2. Is going crazy getting drunk and exposing your genitals to strangers?
  3. Is going crazy trying to feed a family of 3 on a single minimum wage salary ?
  4. Is going crazy staying with a spouse that no longer  makes your heart and other parts tingle, and you masturbate in the bathroom because … well you know?

ok rant done

large_25577_RealTalkDecal5.5KruxVinylLG.jpg

13 thoughts on “Is Quoting Bukowski & hiding in the Bathroom to masturbate at home the way to go Crazy?

  1. Reblogged this on Exploring Pixie and commented:
    You know how sometimes something is on your mind and then you meet other people that bring it up just the same moment…

    Well this is today for me. First I reblogged a comic about incessant wanting. Now Mr. Mary writes this great post and mentions longing in the way that really hit me and that I wrote about a while ago.

    Seems it’s a Reblog Day here.

    Like

  2. Sometimes -no, a lot of times, I see going crazy as NOT talking about these types of things. I have to ask, is your summarizing block up there, your sarcasm? Whatever it is, you sound sane to me…and interesting.

    Like

    1. Hola Jayne!

      The summarizing block up there is my brand of sarcasm. Thanks very much for your comment. A similar quote I see used and abused a lot is the one from Kerouac:

      the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.”

      I feel that the need for personal freedom and expression runs counter to the dictates of the social contract which needs us to put the society first before I own desires. I think every generation settles on a particular relative equilibrium between these two forces. Now at this time we have mass surveillence and the love of expression battling in the arena of the every day. I think in such an environment it is all too common for us to feel lif to be lacking. Normally that is a good sign that we have outgrown the present way of living but now it means rather than move towards and uncertain future we have to egregiously fill the present with thing to drown out tat emptiness

      Wow that is a lot longer than I expected to write lol sorry for that

      Hope you are well

      Dave

      ok

      Like

  3. I’m not a Bukowski fan. He could’ve been something special if only he’d had better editing. And it seems to me that he used being “authentic” as an excuse for being drunk and mean all the time, and putting out a lot of crappy writing.

    I don’t really know what it means to go crazy. I guess because I’ve always been kind of in left field/out of the loop/not quite right in the head. I look pretty innocuous, but I don’t really fit anywhere. I’m always just on the fringes of everything. (Which could be considered rather Bukowski-esque, but I refuse to have him associated with my life.) Maybe I’ve always lived my life crazy, and everyone else just has to catch up with me.

    Like

    1. You’re really not Bukowski fan!

      I have noticed that either people emphatically like him or they do not. There is not too much middle ground.I identify with not feeling like I fit right anywhere which is why I took to writing so early on. What about how you see the world and your place in it do you feel puts you out in left field ?

      Like

      1. Um . . . everything? My political beliefs are so far left, there are probably some Communists who would think I’m too radical. That’s just one thing. I don’t understand most of what the rest of the world think is wonderful and popular. I would rather spend a day at the museum, or reading, or almost anything intellectual (and being intellectual automatically puts me on the outside of a huge swath of the population). I’m not even a square peg in a round hole; I’m an octagonal peg that can’t even find the hole. (No innuendo intended.)

        Like

      2. Ola Purpeszzzz

        I’m feeling ya!!! I think having an intellectual bent does divorce one from a what a lot of people find fun. I am always scared that intellectuality can leave us a trapped in a glass tower of mentation, well for me at least. It hard to strike a balance between being able to interact with your fellow people when your bent and differences are so well.. different? My political beliefs are a bit extreme. I don’t feel that individuality is celebrated or encouraged enough so we end up with a lot of people who are out there without really being so. I like the image of an octagon, do you know it’s significance ?

        Like

  4. Hmm . . . What kind of collaboration would you have in mind? I’m always looking for interesting outlets. Although writing is just about the only thing I do well.

    I knew you’d understand how I feel about being on the outside looking in; I don’t feel bad about it, since I tend to surround myself with people who share most of my interests. I don’t know about anything special involving octagons. It was just easier to type than dodecahedron.

    Like

  5. Who brings a lap top top into a bar??? It’s 2014! Nobody uses a lap top anymore!! Ummm, well, yes, we do use them (I do), but… Take them into a bar? Do people really do that? Ain’t that crazy?
    Oh, by the way… good post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

