February 11th, The Day We Fight Back against the NSA !!! Please Retweet This



tdwfb-img

Hello Everyone,

As ex-girlfriends of mine, can tell you I hate being spied on! Being video-taped is another thing; as long as I am in charge of the lighting is my policy. I’ve never done anything illegal, I’ve never supported terrorists like HSBC, or used constant fear mongering and gerrymandering to enact policies and actions that aren’t in the publics best interest.So far the only thing I’ve been guilty of is

  1. Expressing my displeasure as the ever widening gap between the wealthy and the poor,
  2. Acknowledging that class warfare/racism exists
  3. Being critical of capitalism
  4. Being against the wars in Iraq or Afghanistan
  5. The occasional dick joke

I live this way because because getting gang-raped in a prison shower is not my preferred way of making friends, but iI still feel that mass spying is not compatible with living in a democracy.  Personally I wouldn’t mind being spied on if we can all, emphatically admit we are A) not in a democracy, and  B) we are part of a plutocratic regime’s who’s main export is the illusion of a crippling economical, sociological, political version of normalcy that views and in so doing so reduces ) its citizen as a mere assortment of animalistic drives in order to goad them into being vehicle of their will.

What is important to me about mass surveillance, or to be more specific what really gets me is how many civil rights leaders were spied on by the government. Mass surveillance played a roll in the Civil rights movements and I am sure that it is playing giving life to the social ills around us. The article: 500 Years of History Shows that Mass Spying Is Always Aimed at Crushing Dissent. I think about it often, if I had said some of the things I have said on the blog during the Vietnam War or the McCarthy Era, I would have been blacklisted or there would be a file on me etc Maybe the NSA has a file on me, and a special folder for all the dick pics I sent out to loyal readers ? We shall see if I ever run for any political office.

February 11th has been chosen as the day people fight back, or voice their concerns about this program of mass spying.  6000+ websites including this blog will be joining together in a virtual orgiastic protest. I will be posting a badge on my side bar that will link to the main: The Day We Fight Back site. Wednesday I will return to posting my typical nonsense.

Dave

DEAR USERS OF THE INTERNET,

In January 2012 we defeated the SOPA and PIPA censorship legislation with the largest Internet protest in history. Today we face another critical threat, one that again undermines the Internet and the notion that any of us live in a genuinely free society: mass surveillance.

In celebration of the win against SOPA and PIPA two years ago, and in memory of one of its leaders, Aaron Swartz, we are planning a day of protest against mass surveillance, to take place this February 11th.

Together we will push back against powers that seek to observe, collect, and analyze our every digital action. Together, we will make it clear that such behavior is not compatible with democratic governance. Together, if we persist, we will win this fight.

One thought on “February 11th, The Day We Fight Back against the NSA !!! Please Retweet This

  1. I have to say here in the UK you would think we are safe as we have laws in place that protect our privacy although apparently there is loop hole which allows the US government to spy on us them pass the information back, on the other had our CCTV systems are so crap that should you get up to anything in public the chances of you being recognised even by your own mother are slim and the chance of it being admissible in court as proof of identity even slimmer, I do find it ironic that they can come up with cameras that can pick out the licence plate on a speeding car in order to issue a ticket but cannot create a camera that can identify a mugger on the street, I think the truth is they don’t care what you are up to unless there is a way to make money out of it

    Like

Leave a Reply

