Thinking Deep Thoughts || You can be anything , Even Yourself…


eveIt’s not just because of our rapacious efficiency in killing that I’ve likened human beings to sharks, those consummate predators of the deep. Whether it’s physically from how we move from apartment to apartment, city to city, new opportunity to new opportunity or whether internally bridging one realization to another: we share a constant need for motion with the sharks.

Is who we were a year ago, who we are today? And while on paper our hearts go out to those suffering through intense crises, like the children in Syria that U.N reports have been sexually abused in government detention, recruited to fight with the opposition, tortured and used as civilian shields, can we even entertain the idea that they may never again recognize the person looking back at them with the sad eyes from the confines of the mirror?

I find it quite spurious then, that in regular conversation we are so quick to hide behind precisely those words that imply a profound sense of finality to what we are. Compare the statement: ‘I am a Republican’ to the following statement: ‘I find that my thoughts are in line for the moment with the systems of beliefs labelled as Republicanism. The former statement , like pins do a preserved insect, a butterfly if you will,  affixes whatever it is we are to a panel.  The latter leaves us room to wiggle to move, to grow, outside the confines of the prison of labels we resign ourselves to, and perhaps to flutter haphazardly from new sensation to new sensation during our time here.

The Walk Home

nasrdIt is easier to interact with others through a mask, than to admit that self-identity at its very least is a riddle, and mystery at best. How many moments in our life have we been just us – without mask or filter ? Every day on my walk home I pass this sign,and I can’t help but wondering are the things I like: long-haired brunettes, tea, reading, writing, telling jokes really me or just a vehicle through which whatever I am expresses itself ?

And yes I can admit that, there are whole entire worlds between what I am and what I appear to you to be, I have no problem admitting that. And while  certainly these worlds will be denied to me because of the limitations of my vision, if not for them there would be no ASpoonfulOfSuga, you would not be here reading this. And this picture of the graffiti’ed writing on the wall would be locked away in the hidden recesses of the memories of all those who saw it on their way to work or home and never freed it into the current of images flooding our lives as we go where-ever it is we are heading.

Finally

The words starts a minute in if you want to hurry it up

Not Christian or Jew or
Muslim, not Hindu,
Buddhist, Sufi, or Zen.
Not any religion

or cultural system. I am
not from the east
or the west, not
out of the ocean or up

from the ground, not
natural or ethereal, not
composed of elements at all.
I do not exist,

am not an entity in this
world or the next,
did not descend from
Adam and Eve or any

origin story. My place is
the placeless, a trace
of the traceless.
Neither body or soul.

I belong to the beloved,
have seen the two
worlds as one and 
that one
call to and know,

first, last, outer, inner,
only that breath breathing

human being.

Side Note: I have done two of these Thinking Deeply Posts would you like to see this series continue ?

2 thoughts on “Thinking Deep Thoughts || You can be anything , Even Yourself…

  1. I’m not even sure there is a real, real me. I’m a different Evie around my friends, my dog, my parents, my colleagues, people I’m dating, but they all feel like different versions of the real me I suppose. Maybe at work I’m not always totally myself. It’s a yes from me for the thinking deeply posts to continue!

    Like

Leave a Reply

