MrMary’s Summer Reading List : Help me choose 5 books


summer_reading

Summer start almost a week ago and I personally want to make the most of my summer. I thought to myself why not generate a list of book I have always wanted to read but haven’t gotten around to yet. I then generated a list and thought that I should share that list with you my readers.  I figure if anyone is interested they may enjoy reading along and discussing some things that stood out to them. I will list the books I wanna read about in the summer time.  Maybe you can help me choose 5 from this list, Leave me a comment.

Dystopian Books

Literary Classics I didn’t get to yet

  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabakov
  • Zazie dans Le Metro by Raymond Queheau
  • The Joke by Milan Kundera
  • In the Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  • Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Women in Love by D.H. Lawrence
  • The Tin drum by Gunter Grass

 

12 thoughts on “MrMary’s Summer Reading List : Help me choose 5 books

      1. Oh there are some incredible new sci-fi authors out there, especially amongst indies. And I’m not just saying that. Let me recommend a few when you’re ready.

        It’s winder Downunder, and my favourite time of the year. No worries about bushfires, no heat and humidity. And a happy little aussie. 🙂

        Like

  1. Fahrenheit 451 is Ray Bradbury, and it’s great. So is Lolita and Slaughterhouse Five. I recommend all of those. D.H. Lawrence is an insufferable prick, and Women in Love is crap; it’s also related to another earlier book, though I can’t remember which one. If you can find out, you might want to start there (if you absolutely must read Lawrence; I know I never will again). I haven’t read the others, so I can’t really say.

    Like

    1. I will definitely put them on the list Lolita, Slaughterhouse Five, Fahrenheit 451. I don’t know much if anything about D H Lawrence. Man it sucks that he was a insufferable prick. What made him a prick to you. I know nothing about him.

      Like

      1. He’s a total misogynist, for one thing, and it shows in how he treats his female characters. I’m not entirely sure (it’s been a long time since college), but I think he was pretty racist, too. His writing is similar to Hemingway’s in that he used his work as a way to elevate himself and excoriate whomever he was angry with at the moment.

        Like

    1. Carina,

      Nice to hear from you mon amie, I have not read much political stuff lately they generally depress me. I have always liked Nasser it would be interesting to read more about his life. The situation in Syria is troubling, and hurts my heart

      Dave

      Like

      1. Nasser is great book about the man as well as history of ME, especially US, Israel and Egypt. love that book and think it should be mandatory reading for americans. it inspired me, not depressed …

        Syria kills me too, wish i could help Syrian people more.

        Like

Leave a Reply

