The Paula Deen Incident; you should know all that’s being alleged before defending her


enhanced-buzz-wide-25544-1331059499-23

I think before I unleash all my posts involving Paula Deen,  racism, and some social commentary on the US I should  at least share with you the facts as I have now had the time to gather them about the case. I found the facts well summarized on this blog post and so will just copy and past as well as link back to it:

The Paula Deen Incident; you should know all that’s being alleged before defending her

I think individuals who are trying to defend Paula Deen’s use of the “N’ word should probably familiarize themselves with all of the facts of the case against her. Just so you know, in case you didn’t know, the person who initiated the complaint against Paula Deen and her brother is not “Black.” She is a “white female” who was subjected to years of abuse and was finally fed up with her black employees being treated like animals, so stop thinking it was a black person complaining about Paula Deen’s use of the N word. Furthermore, Paula Deen indicated that she used the N word over 20 years ago. That is not what’s being alleged against her. She went as far as telling a guy he was as black as a blackboard. That lady is something else and I’m glad I never supported any of her ventures. I personally find it insulting that so many black people are coming to the defense of Paula Deen after reading what she and her family subjected their employees to. When I learned about the major companies dropping Paula Deen without being demanded to do so, I knew it was deep. The fact that any civil rights activist is supporting Paula Deen is insulting and is a slap in the face.

Here’s a summary of some of the things being alleged against Paula Deen, her brother Bubba Hiers and the Deen business entities:

Summary

Paula Deen, while planning her brother’s wedding in 2007, was asked what look the wedding should have. She replied, “I want a true southern plantation-style wedding.” When asked what type of uniforms the servers should wear, Paula stated, “well what I would really like is a bunch of little n*ggers to wear long-sleeve white shirts, black shorts and black bow ties, you know in the Shirley Temple days, they used to tap dance around; 

Black staff had to use the back entrance to enter and leave restaurant;

Black staff could only use one bathroom;

Black staff couldn’t work the front of the restaurants;

Brother Bubba stated his wishes: “ I wish I could put all those n*ggers in the kitchen on a boat to Africa”;

Bubba asked a black driver and security guard “don’t you wish you could rub all the black off you and be like me? You just look dirty; I bet you wish you could.” The guy told Bubba he was fine as is;

Bubba on President Obama: they should send him to the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, so he could n*gger-rig it;

He shook an employee (Black again) and said” F your civil rights…you work for me and my sister Paula Deen;

Paula’s son Jaime’s best friend managed the Lady & Sons restaurant. He threatened to fire all the ‘Monkeys’ in the kitchen. When Paula found out…she slapped him on the wrist and suggested that the employee visited Paula’s $13,000,000 mansion so he felt special and could be massaged.

10 thoughts on “The Paula Deen Incident; you should know all that’s being alleged before defending her

    1. She is a “chef” on the Food Network channel who is well known for being stereotypically “southern”, creating recipes that require much deep-frying and/or 2-3 sticks of butter, and being just generally unhealthy. And now, apparently racist.

      Though you pretty much summed her up with “heinous bitch”.

      Like

  1. Mouth hanging open. Unbelievable. I grew up in one of the most racist families I’ve ever known, even though I didn’t grow up in the south. . Reading this was like a shuddering time warp back to the dinner table in my family home. I wasn’t even allowed to have friends that weren’t white.

    I am thankful that I didn’t adopt this attitude, and was able to pass on to my kids the idea that we are all created equal, no matter what, and they are a great bunch, with a diverse group of wonderful friends from differing backgrounds, and I’m thankful for this.

    Shame on Paula, her brother, and the rest of her organization for perpetuating this unacceptable and horrific behavior. I had no idea this ran so deep until I read this article, so thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

    1. The more I read the more I am shocked that they could subject their employees to such a terrible environment. I really wonder about racism. Like what really causes it to persist in time. In class I used to read about the south and the Mason Dixon line and I always felt that once one crossed the Mason Dixon things were better, and they were in terms of a social freedoms but the racism was still there. I’m glad you didn’t adopt this attitude, we wouldn’t be talking now. I’ve really enjoy your tweets and comment and its nice to see you on here. That’s awesome too about your kids. I have learned so much from interacting with people from other countries it has really enriched my mind and understanding about life.

      Like

  2. It is truly wonderful how technology has given us the ability to make friends with others all over the globe, especially some people close to home seem to be so insensitive and unthinking sometimes. I enjoy reading you too! I don’t do much more than lurk these days, but I’m not really creepy or anything. Just busy and distracted. 🙂

    Like

  3. Discrimination is human… I think. I don’t know.

    In The Netherlands the black on white thing is ancient history. Even the muslim on white thing isn’t ‘hot’ anymore. Now, it’s all about Eastern Europeans and basically anything that doesn’t speak Dutch without an accent.

    People will always fear what they don’t understand and will always gang up, in order to feel superior over something, in an attempt to defeat their own insecurities. When it actually fuels them.

    People like this, however, line them up and execute them. No joke. I have no tolerance for ignorant retards like the bitch mentioned in your post. She should at least have her tongue cut out.

    Like

  4. I can’t believe people are surprised. Has anyone every been to Georgia before? I lived there for a while. Once you get 10 feet out of Atlanta it’s rebel flags, tanning beds and biscuits and gravy. One of the most backwards states in the nation.

    Like

  5. Believe it or not, while I heard about the controversy I had never heard the details before. This is amazingly appalling.

    I guess there are different reasons for racism. Some people grow up with it and never make an effort to unlearn it. I suppose it never even occurs to some people to try to get over their racism. Other people actually enjoy it because it creates a sense of superiority. And I’m sure that plenty of the time it’s a mix of the two.

    So sad how some people don’t care about making other people’s lives miserable – and sometimes even enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

