A Personal Post: MrMary Lost his Fire || Finding the Fire Again INFP style 3


In part 1 and part 2 I outlined the problems I was having with my life; specifically with losing the passion for the work I am doing currently. I have decided to go back to basic and really look at my self and decide what direction should I go in. [Read part 1 and part 2 if you haven’t ]

In trying to figure out what to do next for career I decided I would go back to some notes I took on myself. I have this on-going mental and in scattered parts written notebook where I log observations about myself and how I interact with the world around me. It allows me to look at my life sometimes from many different angles. This particular set of notes dealt with specifically the Jungian, Meyers Briggs personality type. I thought I would share some bits of it with you and share some ideas of what I plan to transition to doing next. So then

MrMary is an INFP

infp1

What does that Mean ?

INFP7Extraversion (E) and Introversion (I) describe how a person directs  their energy either outwardly toward people and activities or inwardly  toward thoughts and ideas. MrMary is an Introvert.

For a Note: Introversion is characterized by a preference to focus on the inside world. Introverts are  energized by spending time alone  or with a small group. They find  large group gatherings draining  because they seek depth instead of breadth of relationships. Introverts process information  internally. They are great listeners and think before talking.

infp6People use Sensing (S) and Intuition (N) to receive and process new information either by using your five senses or in more abstract ways. Both preferences in this pair are used by everybody to some degree.  MrMary’s dominant preference is Intuition.

For Note: Intuitive people live in the future. They are immersed in the world of possibilities. They process information through patterns and impressions. Intuitive people value inspiration and imagination. They gather knowledge by reading between the lines. Their abstract nature attracts them toward deep ideas, concepts and metaphors. They can see the “big picture” and are analytical.

infp5The Thinking (T) and Feeling (F) preference pair refers to how you make decisions, either by objective logic or subjective feeling. MrMary’s dominant preference is Feeling.

For Note: Feeling people are subjective. They make decisions based on principles and values. They are ruled by their heart instead of their head. Feeling people judge situations and others based on feelings and extenuating circumstances. They seek to please others and want to be appreciated. They value harmony and empathy.

infp4Judging (J) and Perceiving (P) are how you interact with the world outside yourself, either in a structured or flexible manner. MrMary’s dominant preference is Perceiving.

For Note: Perceivers are adaptable and flexible. They are random thinkers who prefer to keep their options open. Perceivers thrive with the unexpected and are open to change. They are spontaneous and often juggle several projects at once. They enjoy starting a task better than finishing it. Deadlines are often merely suggestions. Perceivers play as they work.

The Tough Part

There are two “difficulties” in this as I see it:

INFP2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INFP3There are only 2% of the population with my personality type. I often times I am not understood well by other’s or other people find how I approach things and how I roll a bit odd/strange/weird/off. Also to give a better description of this personality type

INFPs are introspective, private, creative, loyal and highly idealistic individuals that have a constant desire to be on a meaningful path. They are driven by their values and seek peace. Empathetic and compassionate, they want to help others and humanity as a whole.

INFPs are greatly misunderstood. The majority of people are extroverts and especially in the West a lot of emphasis is put on extrovert characteristics, and it really clashes with how I see things and work.

Let me tell you some famous INFP’s, and visionaries:

Albert Schweitzer  Fred Rogers James Taylor Princess Diana Dick Clark Audrey Hepburn William Shakespeare John F. Kennedy, Jr. Scott Bakula Henry W. Longfellow Neil Diamond Lisa Kudrow A. A. Milne Tom Brokaw Aldous Huxley Laura Ingalls Wilder Virgil J. R. R. Tolkien Helen Keller John Peter Jackson Dr. Seuss Upton Sinclair Audrey Hepburn Nelson Mandela Mark Twain Johnny Depp Diane Sawyer Bill Cosby Helen Keller Anne Shirley

Careers

Here are the jobs most recommended for me. A lot of these I have already done oddly enough, in some capacity but not the appropriate capacity for me to make a living of of them (they are in bold). What i figured I would do was to list the jobs and in the next post I can talk about what I feel success is for me  and what direction I’m going in more specifically.

• Activist || • Actor/Actress || • Artist || • Choir Director || • Church Worker
• Composer || • Conductor || • Copywriter || • Counselor || • Court Reporter
Editor || • Educational Consultant || • Entrepreneur || • Farmer || • Fashion Designer || • Filmmaker || • Graphic Designer || • Historian || • Inventor || • Journalist || • Lecturer || • Librarian || • Minister || • Missionary || • Music Teacher || • Musician || • Broadcaster/Newscaster || • Philosopher || • Physical Therapist || • Politician || • Professor || • Psychologist || • Record Producer || • Scientist || • Singer || • Social Scientist || • Social Worker || • Songwriter || • Speech Pathologist || • Speech Writer || • Teacher || • Theologian || • Therapist || • Translator/Interpreter || • Web Designer ||

2 thoughts on “A Personal Post: MrMary Lost his Fire || Finding the Fire Again INFP style 3

  1. Ooh, ooh, pick librarian! Okay, I say this because I am one, and it’s not perfect and the pay sucks. But it works for me. I can’t remember my personality type. If it helps, I think I score differently each time I take one of those tests. So maybe you’re some of one and some of the other, unless you think it does fit you. I understand feeling lost and not knowing what’s right for you. Good luck on your quest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

