MrMary will be in Tennessee Next Month, Any Recommendations Anyone want some Burbon ?


Being a black person that can read, (yes we do exist) I have an natural aversion to the South.  I had one bad experience where some toothless hick told me I had a ‘purty’ mouth like that scene in Deliverance. You could imagine how I was gripped with fear at that moment. For years it was my fear of being sodomized in a prison shower by my fellow brothers behind the Iron that kept me on the straight and narrow. I didn’t want to, when I got out at the sport rehabilitation facilities learning how to shit again thanks to some BBC genetics.

deliverance_528_poster
That scene from Deliverance

I’m just kidding.

Seriously though my family was followed by this car draped with confederate flags with about 5 guys on an empty  stretch of highway on I95 at night outside LynchBurg VA on the way to Charlottesville . A car full of Southern men, is scarier that the NYPD. At least with the NYPD if I don’t die I will be put in prison with people I can related to. A car full of Southerners I am not sure what torment I would undergo or if anyone would even look for me after I have been missing as I am sure you are aware they dont make exhaustive searches for negros.

But enough with my flippant tom-foolery

But anyway I am going to Memphis, Tennessee for work and was thinking of taking a few days off  to look around. My street creed doesn’t extend outside my mind to anywhere I’d wanna go. But since I am not that cool do you have any suggestions ? I will be definitely eating some BBQ and drinking some Bourbon !!!  I know it’s not Kentucky Derby season but I just may showcase my my inner gentleman and order a mint julip . I also plan to sing songs about Memphis or Tennessee in Memphis songs like:

Walking in Memphis
Tennessee (One of my favorites byt arrested Develoment)

Recommendations Ive received so far

breakfast at the arcade diner

Arcade Restaurant Entrance Memphis TN

The Arcade has the honor of being Memphis’ oldest restaurant. Speros Zepatos founded the diner in 1919 after immigrating from Cephalonia, Greece. Situated at the corner of South Main Street and G.E. Patterson, the original building was a small, one story, wood framed building. Food was actualy cooked on potbelly stoves! In 1925, Speros tore down the wood structure and built the Arcade Building in a Greek revival style, complete with retail stores to signify the “Arcade” name.

Beal Street

beale-st-memphis-tnBeale Street is a street in Downtown Memphis, Tennessee, which runs from the Mississippi River to East Street, a distance of approximately 1.8 miles (2.9 km). It is a significant location in the city’s history, as well as in the history of the blues. Today, the blues clubs and restaurants that line Beale Street are major tourist attractions in Memphis. Festivals and outdoor concerts periodically bring large crowds to the street and its surrounding areas.

Civil Rights Museum

National_Civil_Rights_Museum_1

The National Civil Rights Museum is the site of the Lorraine Motel in Memphis, TN where Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was assassinated on April 4, 1968. The Museum is located at South Main and Huling Streets, in the historic art district of downtown Memphis.

Dedicated on September 28, 1991, the Museum exists to assist the public in understanding the lessons of the Civil Rights Movement and its impact and influence on human rights movements worldwide, through its collections, exhibitions, research and educational programs. It chronicles the civil rights movement from 1619 to 2000 with historical exhibits, including Room 306, the hotel room where Dr. King stayed in April of 1968.

Feel free to make suggestions ….

MrMary

 

 

5 thoughts on “MrMary will be in Tennessee Next Month, Any Recommendations Anyone want some Burbon ?

  1. The civil rights museum sounds like an interesting place to visit. You must tell me how that one goes. As I’ve never once thought to go to Memphis, I have no suggestions. But I’m looking forward to hearing about this new adventure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

