A Personal Post: MrMary Lost his Fire – not an allusion to Syphilis


imagesSomething you do not know about me was that when I was that my father taught me science: in particular biology and chemistry from the time I was 4 -5. He taught me about sex and hygiene with graphic images from his medical books. He even showed me how to old basic surgical tools. I have an inquisitive mind so it fit. He also use to give me lists of books to read, all science and classical literature. The intention for this was for me to become a medical doctor and scientific researcher. While everyone was out playing and having fun at least from what I could tell outside my window, I was reading books and learning all sorts of  stuff.

In HS I was in an advanced programs for science, and did college course work starting from my junior year in high school. I was sorta forced/guilt into studying science and I did well given the many life problems. I got a masters and worked for many years in research.

I am going to be 32 in a few weeks and I think I have grown tired of windowless labs, analysing data, giving presentations. Im ready to do something totally different but its difficult to leave safety. Though I am grossly underpaid I still do well for myself and well I can coast along. All the fire is gone and I think its time I close that chapter in my life and move on to something else.

Any thoughts? Anyone have any ideas ? What can you see MrMary doing ?

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXsusJ787sU]

18 thoughts on “A Personal Post: MrMary Lost his Fire – not an allusion to Syphilis

  1. That’s the thing. IF you want to do something totally different you HAVE to leave familiar surroundings. 32 is so young. If you run into a road block or sinkhole, like the kind they had in China that ate up 5 men, you still have time to turn back and do something else.

    Alternatively, ever thought of using your medical background to volunteer someplace? Still one foot on firm ground and the other in the unknown?

    Like

    1. Suzanita

      Nice to see ya. Your absolutely right. I have been wishy washy adn back and forth with crossing the rubicon with this decision to do something new and get back to what I used to love doing before. I have thought about volunteering but havent found a way to make my knowledge so useful for others other than the volunteer work i do with and for my students and other stuff like soup kitchen type dealsimma take some time off and really think and get it done

      How are you, is life treating you well

      Dave

      Like

  2. I’ve been a lot of things in my life, but most flowed from things I was fairly passionate about. And even though teaching kids, working with computers and doing technical writing sound very different, they basically all revolve around the fact that I love to communicate. That’s the core of who I am. Find the core of MrMary and you’ll find the career that will fulfil you. Good luck!

    Like

    1. This comment made my f*ing day man I have read it a bunch of time and each time I laugh. I keep seeing amish paradize or Beat it weird Al telling girls they have been naughty and it makes me laugh uncontrollably. Hi five homey lol

      Like

      1. Lol. Hey man…”Tonight we’re gonna party like it’s 1699!”

        Glad I could make you laugh. It’s what I live for…making others happier, and their lives easier.

        Like

  3. Hmmm – your dad got you on the science thing really young… But did you love it then? Was there other stuff you loved that you never got to do? Or is it just where it has taken you (windowless) that’s gotten you down?
    I’m in a similar kind of transition thingy myself, and feeling out what else might be fun AND make money is its own experiment.
    One thing you can do is sit down and make a list of 10 or 15 or whatever # of things you really want to do / want to try. And start trying those things – some of them might not be so great after all, but just the trying of new things can open some doors and get you thinking about what new directions might be out there.

    Like

    1. To be honest with you I thought it was cool,and I like knowing about things and am passionate about teaching. I never saw myself doing it as a profession although I have talent for it. Every time I would try to break out nad do my own thing there was hug strife discord and threats of being kicked out. I think its the combo of not liking what I am doing and where it has taken me that makes it such a sour point. Whaddya do at the moment for work? i am gonna follow ur suggestion and make a list and then take some time off to think and make some moves

      Like

      1. Ah, I get ya – so you liked it fine, but there wasn’t really room to explore much else. Sounds like some exploring unknown territories is a good place to start. I’ve been stretching my wings for a couple of years now (blogging is part of that) and I’m just barely starting to feel like maybe I see a place where I might be heading – but I’m slow.
        My job is film / tv editor. It’s great in a lot of ways – get to be creative and use my brain and tell stories and learn about interesting stuff – but it’s a lot of windowless rooms with computers…

        Like

      2. A film/tv editor stranger on the plane really helped me out of a tough pickle one day.

        Reading everyone’s comments has really helped. I think I will start a series and keep you all updates with what new stuff I am doing.

        Yeah I think this summer imma throw myself into the unknown stuff, just a mix of different stuff to keep it fresh. it should be all kinds of cool.

        How did you get into your current professions ?

        Like

  4. Okay, so keep it simple buddy. I took a low end job a few years ago because I hated and was done with business management. People kept telling and supporting me to use my ninja skillz, so I went against my better judgement and started climbing the corporate ladder. I hated it. I went in everyday thinking what the f is going to happen today. Nothing surprised me. I drank every night, just enough to become to coma tose and woke up the next morning to do it all over again. In the fall last year, during a meeting with the higher ups, I just quit. I laughed out loud and said no, I won’t be doing all that. Find someone else. I quit. Friday will be my last day(I quit on a Monday), so you have 4 days for me to train my replacement. That Friday, I stayed late yet again, completed every last single thing and then more for my replacement so she wouldnt be so overwhelmed the following monday, and did a happy dance, literally, all the way out the building from my office. Now, I’m unemployed again, BUT happy as I have EVER been. I refuse to go back this time. Like you, you have mad ninja skillz, but its not your passion. You have to do what makes YOU happy. Take the time to think about what you want, don’t just find another job because you hate this one because you will then later, hate that one too. When you close your eyes at night, what do you see yourself doing? That’s the job you move toward. The end. Lady Ninja out. Ps, this is the longest comment I have ever left someone! Pss. Phone sex operator, could be fun you know….just saying.

    Like

  5. If you don’t like the phone sex operator idea, you could always try to be an “extra” in the Weird Science remake they’re working on…

    I hear the chick they make may *actually* be kinda nekkid in this one! Sounds right up your alley, Dave. 😉

    Like

    1. lol

      I don’t know how good a phone sex operator I would be especially since, ironic as it may seem, I’ve never called one. I should offer like 3 free trial calls to my readers, and they can access my technique, delivery, and whether I will be work $2.99 the first minute and 99 cents ever minute after. If I get good feedback, and not bust out laughing during, maybe I’ll consider it. Id have to give the first trial offer to you since you suggested it, maybe you see something in me that I dont Master Yoda

      Like

      1. I have thought about acting before, acting with nekkid or kinda women sound cool but I dunno if that the type of acting I’d wanna do lol j/k I didn’t know they are making a new Weird Science. It was one of my fav’s as a kid. I’m so outta the loop, what else is coming out. I know that new Chris Nolan inspired Superman which looks cool. The first movie I ever saw was superman 4 so it be cool. Like a revisit to my youth. Anything you’re looking forward to see ?

        Like

      2. If there’s a movie with gratuitous explosions, death defying odds, and/or superheros…count me in. Thus, I’m looking forward to;

        The 2nd part of The Hobbit
        Thor
        Ant-Man
        The Avengers 2
        Weird Science
        Despicable Me 2
        Hammer of the Gods
        The Wolverine
        47 Ronin
        Lone Ranger
        Frozen
        This Is The End
        World War Z
        Man of Steel

        And some others, but I think that’s enough for now. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

