Greatest moments in Blogging History Part 2 – MrMary goes topless to Support Women .. sorta well w/ some caveats


2012-11-26 09.25.44

Someone in my neighborhood had a few months ago written this on a few places. It really got me thinking a lot. I am not a fan of cops as you can guess  and so far some of the meanest craziest women I have met have been feminist  so I am not sure arming them unless it is with knowledge  would help.  I would like to share some observations I have had concerning women, feminism and current going on in the news.

Observation

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You don’t need to arm feminist as long as there are breast to be exposed.

My Critic on Movements

Feminism is a movement, a social movement, and I have noticed that historically it was not an inclusive. What I mean is that feminism start out as a predominantly white caucasian western movement. Later on other racial and ethnic groups where included  Do you know the case of Frances  Williard.

Willard was the secretary of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, one of the most formidable women’s organizations in the country, with branches in every state and a membership of over 200,000. Willard had used the issue of temperance to politicize women who saw organizing for suffrage as too radical.

Willard had conducted during a tour of the South in which Willard had blamed Blacks for the defeat of temperance legislation there and had cast aspersions on the race. “The colored race multiplies like the locusts of Egypt,” she had said, and “the grog shop is its center of power… The safety of women, of childhood, of the home is menaced in a thousand localities.”

The problem here is that not all women share the same social, economic, and  political status as white woman in the west.  Women are a very large and diverse group  they are half the population. They speak different languages, they have different religions, different values. To think that freedom means the same to every women every where in every culture etc is ludicrous.

Many European countries and America too have very negative and misguided views on Islam. I wrote about this before in my post: Taking the Negative: Islam and terrorism

So far as the United States seems to be concerned, it is only a slight overstatement to say that Moslems and Arabs are essentially seen as either oil suppliers or potential terrorists. Very little of the detail, the human density, the passion of Arab-Moslem life has entered the awareness of even those people whose profession it is to report the Arab world. What we have instead is a series of crude, essentialized caricatures of the Islamic world presented in such a way as to make that world vulnerable to military aggression.

-Edward Said

Do muslim women need saving ? Do they need topless Women marching for them. Are the topless women really marching for the people they say they are?  Do they have a culutral understanding of Islam and the many cultural around the world that have Islam in their midst ? Are they not exploiting these women to their own end?

I don’t know the answers to any of these questions But I do know that some women have voiced the following sentiment:

64289_10151305513431853_668818485_n 548863_431666410259694_646627008_n nonudity nobnudity

GReatest Moments in Blogging PART 2

collage

I stand for free rights for every human being regardless of age race,gender, religious creed, height and size. But I do feel that going topless without educating myself on the intricacies of an observed social phenomenon or without opening a serious non-biased dialogue with the people I am going topless for is meaningless and an insult to free thinking

So here I stand topless to support women sorta

2 thoughts on “Greatest moments in Blogging History Part 2 – MrMary goes topless to Support Women .. sorta well w/ some caveats

  1. Hmm, I suppose I consider myself feminist in the purest sense, and whilst I’m not offended by tits (I have two of my own), I’m not entirely sure how baring them in public will advance womens rights around the world, like you say the response seems to have been indignant and inflammatory so far.

    Why would you not consider yourself a feminist if you believe in equality Mr M? That’s the main gist of the principle as far as I’m concerned…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

