How I said Good-Bye to Black History Month 2013 & My Great-GrandMother


MEpB0

Racism is a not a cause to me, it has always been a means to an end. I believe for some person if material comfort means treating people badly they are more than happy to go for it. At the end of the day race is the easiest difference to point out and to rally others around. If enough people have that mentality then large-scale, systematic exploitation of millions can happen and it has happened, and it is happening now. Slavery is still alive and well in the world, sex and human trafficking is a reality not just a story. However  I feel collectively, as a whole are  closed off to talking about it.

  1. I have noticed a recalcitrance to engage in a serious discussion about past transgression in America.  Any time the Africa American  and Black Experience ( Notice how those two words are different) are brought up, no matter the context, let me tell you what I have hear
  2. Yeah but the Greeks were enslaved by the Turks for 500 years and we didn’t complain
  3. You people love to complain
  4. You people just don’t want to work you are all lazy
  5. You people are all violent and like killing each other
  6. That happen before my time I am not responsible
  7. if You don’t Like it here leave

One of the quintessential human features is to tell, we tell each other about our struggles , about our sorrows and  in doing so it grounds us in the human experience. I remember after a  bad break up telling a friend over beers about my experience and he just listened. It helped me deal and move on.  We I as an American cannot share my American experience with other Americans, we all miss out on an opportunity to move forward collectively as one nation.

I want to tell people about

George Stinney Jr.

220px-George_Stinney_1944

George Junius Stinney Jr. was, at age 14, the youngest person executed in the United States in the 20th century executed by electric chair, convicted of murdering two young girls after police said he confessed to the murders. Following his arrest, Stinney’s father was fired from his job and his parents and siblings were given the choice of leaving town or being lynched. The family was forced to flee, leaving the 14-year-old child with no support during his 81-day confinement and trial. His trial, including jury selection, lasted just one day. Stinney’s court-appointed attorney was a tax commissioner preparing to run for office. There was no court challenge to the testimony of the three police officers who claimed that Stinney had confessed, although that was the only evidence presented. There were no written records of a confession. Three witnesses were called for the prosecution: the man who discovered the bodies of the two girls and the two doctors who performed the post mortem. No witnesses were called for the defense. The trial before a completely ‘white’ jury and audience (African-Americans were not allowed entrance) lasted two and a half hours. The jury took ten minutes to deliberate before it returned with a ‘guilty’ verdict.

The execution of George Stinney was carried out at the South Carolina State Penitentiary in Columbia, on June 16, 1944. At 7:30 p.m., Stinney walked to the execution chamber with a Bible under his arm, which he later used as a booster seat in the electric chair. Standing 5 foot 1 inch (155 cm) tall and weighing just over 90 pounds he was small for his age, which presented difficulties in securing him to the frame holding the electrodes. Nor did the state’s adult-sized face-mask fit him; as he was hit with the first 2,400 V surge of electricity, the mask covering his face slipped off, “revealing his wide-open, tearful eyes and saliva coming from his mouth”…After two more jolts of electricity, the boy was dead.”Stinney was declared dead within four minutes of the initial electrocution. From the time of the murders until Stinney’s execution, eighty-one days had passed.

State Sen. Jason Rapert

JasonRapert

RAPERT: I hear you loud and clear, Barack Obama. You don’t represent the country that I grew up with. And your values is [sic] not going to save us. We’re going to take this country back for the Lord. We’re going to try to take this country back for conservatism. And we’re not going to allow minorities to run roughshod over what you people believe in!

Actually I want to tell you about a lot of things about what it was like growing up where I did during the 80’s, I would like to tell you about how real police brutality is, I want to tell you about some of the real problems of the inner city that the politicians neglect to talk about every 4 years.

So How Did I say goodbye

The same way I did my great grandmother, I didnt say goodbye to her. She was without my or my immediate family’s knowing dropped off in an old folks home one night. Supposedly she was a threat to her self. She didn’t speak English and died 48 hours later in a cold sanitized room. I believe the look on her face in the casket was the same look she had that night when she was dropped off.  Black history month is not something I have the liberty to say good-bye too, like the image of my great-grandmother it is the source of great pain, great pride and a great silence.

“I, the man of color, want only this: That the tool never possess the man. That the enslavement of man by man cease forever. That is, of one by another. That it be possible for me to discover and to love man, wherever he may be.”
― Frantz Fanon, Black Skin, White Masks

Je suis Noir, je réalise une fusion totale avec le monde, une compréhension sympathique de la terre, une perte de mon moi au cœur du cosmos, et le Blanc, quelque intelligent qu’il soit, ne saurait comprendre Louis Armstrong et les chants du Congo. Si je suis Noir, ce n’est pas à la suite d’une malédiction, mais c’est parce que, ayant tendu ma peau, j’ai pu capter tous les effluves cosmiques. Je suis véritablement une goutte de soleil sous la terre…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “How I said Good-Bye to Black History Month 2013 & My Great-GrandMother

  1. Personally, I don’t even really acknowledge these “fill-in-the-blank-History Months”. I try to pay tribute to everything concerning the history of Man every single day. I understand the reasoning behind it all but how effective are these occasions? To each his own.

    Like

  2. I don’t know why fear of the ‘other’ is so strong in so many people but it seems to be hardwired. I used to play an online game called World of Warcraft where players had to belong to one of two factions. Communication between the factions was not possible. In a very short space of time players were hating other players based only on their ‘faction’.

    Racial hate is like a sickness that just won’t go away. 😦

    Like

  3. I agree with acflory. That’s a very sad story about that kid – a lot of terrible things have happened to black people, and to all colours, from time to time. Humans have a terrible under-current of violence and cruelty which can be set off by all kinds of things, but perhaps especially imbalances of power. I’m so sorry that happened to your great grandmother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

