Things Not to Do During Black History Month #1


I woke up early today hit the gym, went over my lecture in my mind for my students got to work reviewed some programs I wrote a while ago that are integral to the tailor made data analysis pipeline I created that interfaces  with my  databases.  It’s was a fulfilling start to a day when all of a sudden something unsavory happened when I stepped into the work elevator. A lady grabbed her purse and yes stepped closer to the wall creating the maximum distance between her and me. I’m not bother by it in the slightest. It happens all the time plus other people came on

Funny Youtube Video
& Psychology Today Tie-in

There is a youtube video on this topic exactly check them out:

Eric is here with some insight into typical racist behavior. You can have a laugh at racism in our spoof-PSA.

A psychologist working for psychology today had a problem with this video.  He said:

 To wit, anything that makes three million people take notice is worthy of some positive regard, particularly when stereotypes of Black criminality are so widely held, particularly when the criminal justice system is racially biased beyond repair.  The purse-grab may seem like a subtle act, but it’s horrifically destructive in its (often unconscious) assumption of violence and criminality — in Black women, as well as Black men, in other people of color too. I’m glad someone is calling our attention to it. I just wish it were done in a way that had a chance at being effective and didn’t denigrate women in the process.

The word “Bitch” is denigrating, demeaning, dehumanizing. And all that aside, its use in this context reinforces the very negative stereotypes it tries to dispel.

he was upset by the misogyny in the video.

The Dilemma

I have seen the bitch used many ways that are not always negative or misogynistic. Also the term bitch is in response to what seems to be an egregious insult. What do you think is this a case of misogyny?

What not to do during black history month

Simply put keep on with the elevator thing don’t worry about it. But dont use the word bitch in conversation.  Why because when you deliberately ignore nuance anything and everything is possible.

On a side note:

Tyranny is the deliberate removal of nuance

I may be wrong and not know much about anything, but I know music and food. Well I think I do because that’s what TV tells me about my ethnicity. Here is some great music and a picture of cornbread. Happy Black History Month.

images

 

 

One thought on “Things Not to Do During Black History Month #1

  1. I love that last part: “I may be wrong and not know much about anything, but I know music and food. Well I think I do because that’s what TV tells me about my ethnicity. Here is some great music and a picture of cornbread. Happy Black History Month.”

    That is classic. So powerful and true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

