MrMary Reads: What’s the WORST book to read on a trip through the US?


No one reads anymore. This is what I told my sister as I reached for my book on the way to the Airport. I was determined to continue the life long process of educating myself. Well I am a teacher and an avid bibliophile. I read many books sometimes in a single week.

This time I had reached for the book I had read the least of for that week and it was the worst book one could pick as one travels through America, also know as ‘Murica !!!!!.

Let me give you some quotes:

BuzzKill # 1

“Actual happiness always looks pretty squalid in comparison with the overcompensations for misery. And, of course, stability isn’t nearly so spectacular as instability. And being contented has none of the glamour of a good fight against misfortune, none of the picturesqueness of a struggle with temptation, or a fatal overthrow by passion or doubt. Happiness is never grand.”

Buzz Kill # 2

“…most men and women will grow up to love their servitude and will never dream of revolution.”

Buzz Kill # 3

“A really efficient totalitarian state would be one in which the all-powerful executive of political bosses and their army of managers control a population of slaves who do not have to be coerced, because they love their servitude.”

But here is the passage that really turned got me thinking in such a way that lead to my making a big decision about my career and why I came to work 3 hours late today because I was playing my harmonica and dancing around my living room with a glow stick.

bravenewworld

here it is:

“And that”, put the Director sententiously, “that is the secret of happiness and virtue – liking what you’ve got to do. All conditioning aims at that: making people like their unescapable social destiny.”

That one is the one that haunted me on my trip.  It followed me on my trip to Vegas and all over Los Angeles  and back to NYC.

Seriously Now

I decided to really change my career up and do something different. I have tried for years to like what I do at first it was because well I do good at it. Then I said to myself well I am trained at this and it would be too difficult to start something new. I said to myself then I got bills student loans to pay and I need money $$$.

and so here I am at work writing blog posts, doing other work, and  a whole host of stuff. Yes of course work gets done and it gets done well to the best of my ability but at the end of the day I’ve never liked what I had to do and always questioned why i had to do it ? I challenged authority a lot etc. So it was kinda funny to see myself sorta chain to this life where I don’t feel I’m fully living. I have to wait till night time or sneak time from other things to do what I like etc.

So I am gonna change all that and will keep you posted. It should be fun and I am excited

Question of the day

Has there been anything you ever read or saw that acted as a serious catalyst for change ?

 

 

2 thoughts on “MrMary Reads: What’s the WORST book to read on a trip through the US?

  1. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. It made me seriously think of ditching my job and taking up sheepherding or something while I figured out what I really wanted to do. I didn’t leave my job . .. too many student loans to pay off and a family to support. But still, the book helped me feel better about things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

