Deadlifted 405lbs, Read I was grotesque, and progress to date


According to Abercrombie and Fitch I will never see the cover of a billboard because I am grotesque looking

In their workout guide to for people aspiring to look like Abercrombie and Fitch models here is their advise:

Squats– Do a great job of adding a lot of mass to your thighs and butt. You do NOT want this! Abercrombie models don’t have huge butts or thighs because it will ruin their look. They also won’t be able to fit into stylish pants.

Traditional Bench Press: I am still a huge fan of the bench press, just not the flat bench or decline bench. These lifts focus way too much on lower pec development. You don’t want your pecs to resemble that of woman’s breasts.

Dead Lifts– This lift also does an incredible job of adding mass to the midsection, thighs, and butt. Adding mass to your midsection will ruin the natural “V” in your upper body.

Today I learned that ” Simply Gaining XX Pounds of Muscle is Not the Route to An Attractive Body! ” and also that my use of the 3 lifts has given me a thick midsection and a nasty rounded and puffy body.

This is considered disgusting and grotesque
This is considered disgusting and grotesque

usherWhat hurts even more is that not only can I not look cool women are repulsed by me.

You see, even if you are a little on the slim side you can still look “cool” and hip. You can wear designer clothes. You can look “GQ”, etc.  …but if you put on too much muscle on the wrong places you get that “cheesy” meat-head aura…and that is not a place where you want to be.   Most women are repulsed by guys who are “overdone” !

The reality

This article made me laugh.  But it was a window into what people like and find attractive and the general mindset when it comes to fitness.  There are some facts that are clearly wrong like decline bench press does not give you a woman’s chest

I was born quite stocky and strong. I was a stocky 186 in the 8th grade. When I discovered weight training I ballooned up to 250 with a 550lbs dead lift, 600 lbs squat and 500lbs deadlift.

Yesterday I went to the gym and deadlifted 405lbs I am 145 away from my max from 6 years ago.  I got emailed this article by a friend a fellow brother in the iron temple (aka the gym).

Where I am Right now

This is me right now.

2012-12-18 17.23.13

I am on a 12 week cut program. I am reducing my percent body fat gradually to get it below 10%. So far I am doing quite well. I have not lost any muscle mass. I have gotten stronger holistically, especially since I’ve been doing Dorian Yates style HIT. I need to do more cardio but I am right on track. Upper abs are starting to come in, more lat definition in the back.

My only issue are my legs. They respond well to training. I have had only 5 leg workout and my calves are back to 19 inches, even bigger than they were a year ago when I took this picture as part of my sexy leggy Blog Post

normal_legs

Actually I had to, when I was training back in the day, not do legs for a while to give my upper body a chance to catch up. I looked like  a Centaur or Satyr from the waist down.  😀

Anyways that is where I am,

Do I look grotesque to you ? or should I give it up and try to look like Usher do some spinning moves while wearing a beanie

19 thoughts on “Deadlifted 405lbs, Read I was grotesque, and progress to date

  1. Mmmmm…momma like the legs,,,and YOU just how you are!!!
    Personally, Usher and those other underwear wearing so called buff guys,,turn me off.
    But, I live in the Great White North and I need more padding and heating hehehe

    Like

  2. This leaves out one important fact: Abercrombie and Fitch clothes look kind of silly.

    Hey, if you’re happy with the way your body is shaping up, and you aren’t high on D-Bol. have at it and have fun.

    Like

  3. I’m not a fan of scrawny cut guys, besides I couldn’t give a flying fuck if the guy I’m with is wearing designer jeans. I like my men to look like men, scruffy, brutish and burly.

    Like

  4. WTF is A&F doing giving exercise advice? Seriously? Do you know the shit Victoria’s Secret would be in if they attempted the same BS? Crimany. I’m appalled. For decades women have been fighting the media image of the perfect body. I guess it’s an equality thing. Now men get the same crap and get to question their body type against clothing ads? Don’t question your self. When you feel good, you look good. Period.

    Like

    1. Its really ridiculous. I really feel this is done on purpose to keep us always questioning our self worth. I think once we keep questioning that We will continue to buy into the ideals that mass media wants us to follow. Ive always been happy with my self image and this kind of articles are so unbalanced its comical.

      Thanks for your comment I appreciate it !

      Like

    1. Ive always been happy with myself. I was being a bit facetious and over dramatic. But its terrible to see what social pressure for self image do to others and such men and women now .

      Its always wonderful to get a response from you hope you are well

      Like

  5. Magazines and articles written by idiots are best used as toilet paper. I flame a popular “magazine” in my WTF Friday post tomorrow. I think you’ll like it. I took a picture of part of my body for it. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

