MrMary Pumps Iron: Intermittent Fasting LeanGains


Intermittent fasting (IF) is a pattern of eating that alternates between periods of fasting and non-fasting. There is evidence suggesting that intermittent fasting may have beneficial effects on the health and longevity  similar to the effects of caloric restriction. There is currently no consensus as to the degree to which this is simply due to fasting or an (often) concomitant overall decrease in calories, but recent studies have shown support of the former. Alternate-day calorie restriction may prolong lifespan.

LeanGains

I have been following a particular type of Intermittent Fasting called Leangains. Leangains is specifically tailored to fitness and strength training, and for those wanting to get as lean and strong as possible. In comparison to other intermittent fasting based diets much more emphasis is put on proper pre- and post-workout nutrition. There are also specific guidelines with regards to calorie cycling, macro composition and meal timing.

Example of  An IF Schedule

Note: Training is initiated on an empty stomach and after ingestion of 10 g BCAA or similar amino acid mixture. This “pre-workout” meal is not counted towards the feeding phase. Technically, training is not completely fasted – that would be detrimental. The pre-workout protein intake, with its stimulatory effect on protein synthesis and metabolism, is a crucial compromise to optimize results. The 8-hour feeding phase starts with the post-workout meal.

6 AM: 5-15 minutes pre-workout: 10 g BCAA.
6-7 AM: Training.
8 AM: 10 g BCAA.
10 AM: 10 g BCAA
12-1 PM: The “real” post-workout meal. Start of the 8 hour feeding-window.
8-9 PM: Last meal before the fast.

My Experience so far

I thought it was best to ease into this intermittent Fasting thing. For starters I was going to sleep at 6 am and waking up 11 :30 am. That amount of sleep is not going to help muscle gains and would be too taxing on my system.

Week 1: Priming the System

So last week I did a basic test where I worked with the 16/8 hour  schedule based on awaking at 10:30AM. I started taking a protein shake and started eating really clean.  I already had stopped drinking beer, soda juice cut out all the snacking . I worked out as I normally would. It was a busy week for me so I didn’t do any cardio.  I lost 2 lbs.

Week 2:  First Real Week IF (Morning Schedule)

Monday I did the impossible I went to bed at 1:45am  got out of bed 7:30am drank a protein shake, walked to the gym, blasted shoulders went back home.  ran some errands walk the dogs and went to work. I didn’t have my protein shake twice before my post work out meal because I left my bottle at home.

Today I had an appointment early and felt it would be more beneficial to work out at night so things are screwy today. It should be smooth sailing from here on end.

Thoughts so far

I have tons of energy I haven’t lost a step or feel weak. However I have been  getting adjusted to the change in waking up and all that follows with that. I am changing up my blogging rhythms trying to find a rhythm that works for me. I’m really leaning out I notice differences already around my midsection, and other places etc.

I will keep you posted on how things continue to go

Interested in Leangains check this out

http://www.leangains.com/2010/04/leangains-guide.html

 

5 thoughts on “MrMary Pumps Iron: Intermittent Fasting LeanGains

  1. Awww… you made me blush. That picture is 10 years old. (I could still rock that outfit with a hell of a lot more attitude today than I could at 21. Yeah, you got me. I am a f#@% lot sexier now.)

    Like

  2. Lean Gains is basically a ’16-8′ system. The rest are just suggestions. This is the great thing with intermittent fasting. Do what suits you best, dude! Don’t get to worked up about it you know! Better believe that!

    2 weeks on this, so I would guess you’re starting to GET RIPPED OUTTA YO MIND dude! Saying you’re starting to see changes must be an understatement or… I hope you’re not doing something you shouldn’t be doin’… you know? Keep it up and be a WARRIOR! For sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

