The Guest House – Something I’m thinking about on An Early Saturday Morning


Ive been so busy lately. Finally this weekend I will get to catch up on everything and also relax. I am doing some volunteer work this Sunday so I am going to try to cram all my fun into tomorrow in between of course the laundry, the gym, maybe a couple of beers, and grocery shopping. I was catching up with one of my favorite bloggers Marj from the Bohemian sentiments. I was reading her post: October Babe Musings (Setting A Place for the Unexpected Guest  and a few lines reminded me of Baudelaire‘s Poem An invitation to a Voyage I was going to post it here and break down some of the lines in French, and talk to you about the French Symbolist Poets  do something fancy nonsense , but I realized that Baudelaire isn’t what’s hip with the cool kids

So instead I bring you these line below from the dude just killing the sales at the Barnes and Noble book stores at the moment. But first the reflective lines from marj that made me take this unplanned mental sally.

One of the most compelling lessons I’ve learned in my magazine readings in recent years has been our willingness in life “to set a place for the unexpected guest.” Man, we better make sure not only the chairs are damn sturdy as this certain guest could bring something that either make you jump for joy or bring you down to your knees. And it got me thinking, how come unwelcome guests always outnumber the ones I am willing to greet with open arms? Nothing truly spectacular has happened in my life, so it should follow that nothing earth shattering should take place as well, right? Right?

No denying quite a few of the unexpected guests have brought me pretty swell gifts. Quite several in fact I’m so grateful for them. Come to think of it, would you gladly welcome someone holding a pin that might threaten your bubble? And who wouldn’t want uninterrupted calm in their lives?

____________________________________

The Guest House


This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

 
Rumi ~

One thought on “The Guest House – Something I’m thinking about on An Early Saturday Morning

  1. What could be more wonderful and refreshing than waking up on a Sunday morning to discover a favorite blogger of mine has dedicated a post for me in his blog? Thank you, my dearest MrMary.

    This particular wisdom I actually extracted from talk show host Sally Jesse Raphael during one of my magazine readings several years back. What a valuable lesson to keep in mind. Rumi’s lovely poem says it all. It’s how we treat these unexpected guests that will determine our true character and the trajectory of our lives. I’ve always had trouble inviting the unwanted ones INTO my house, which means I still have a lot of growing up to do.

    You’re the coolest dude ever, Dave. So glad you’re a huge and meaningful part of my blogging world.

    I hope, too, your Saturday has been fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

