Some thought on Wages and Talent in America


Why should we accept that the “talent” of someone who writes jingles for an advertising agency advertising dog food and gets $100,000 a year is superior to the talent of an auto mechanic who makes $40,000 a year? Who is to say that Bill Gates works harder than the dishwasher in the restaurant he frequents, or that the CEO of a hospital who makes $400,000 a year works harder than the nurse or the orderly in that hospital who makes $30,000 a year? The president of Boston University makes $300,000 a year. Does he work harder than the man who cleans the offices of the university? Talent and hard work are qualitative factors which cannot be measured quantitatively.

Howard Zinn

 

9 thoughts on “Some thought on Wages and Talent in America

  1. I am really, really worried about this election. Romney gets the 99 percent so well. I bet he’s never even done his own freaking grocery shopping. Heck, he said he didn’t give a damn about nearly 50 percent of the populace, yet people are still voting for him? ARghhhhh.

    Sorry, having minor panic attack about tomorrow.

    Like

  2. I can assure you that Bill Gates has never worked harder than a restaurant dishwasher. I have never seen harder workers than those guys and gals. Theirs is a horrible, thankless job! That’s why they always get the biggest slice of cake or the most cookies when I bake for my coworkers!

    Like

    1. Yeah I really agree with you and I feel that the way things are people are designed to be in debt. Debt really rules the day because through debt you can recreate a feudalistic system where the top people collect and own and everyone else suffers through some semblance of life. I got some post son this coming. But this paycheck to paycheck stuff is horrible !!! I also dont begrudge people who earn a lot in high stress jobs, but I do find something off with the jersey shore people getting so much money and teachers stuck with bullshit pay

      Like

      1. oh yes – I agree. Teachers get the shaft. There’s a lot of inequality in pay – I’ve worked in restaurants for years and years and never would have been able to survive baking unless I wanted to own my own bakery and deal with the stress from that.
        Sometimes I feel I’m an event away from tragedy – and I have a degree – so I followed ‘the rules’ and still struggle.

        Like

  3. Nothing could be more true. I think wages are ass backwards. It also seems that the hire up you get the LESS work you actually have to do. You essentially get paid for showing up and looking the part (this is not from personal experience but rather observation).

    Like

    1. Hi Five Girl!!!

      i totally agree. Its fucked up to spend so much on my degrees and then sorta have to do mindless grunt work for a bullshit salary that can barely pay for anything. Its bullshit, like I see all these really effing dumb ass people in all these important positions ? I dont get it no wonder so much stuff is fucked up

      Like

Leave a Reply

