Jocular Look @ Today’s News: Would Deep would you take it for Tolerance


Cross in the Closet: Straight Christian Lives a Year as Gay Man

In his Nashville Christian churchTimothy Kurek was taught the lesson of God‘s wrath in the Biblical story of “Sodom and Gomorrah,” and he believed that homosexuality was a sin. “You learned to be very afraid of God,” said Kurek. According to the preachings of his church, “The loving thing to do is to tell my friend who is gay, ‘Hey, listen, you are an abomination and you need to repent to go to heaven.’ I absolutely believed in that lock, stock and barrel.”

So devout was Kurek as a teen that friends’ parents would often call him to set their kids straight if they misbehaved or broke what they believed to be God’s law. “I would be the one on the phone until four in the morning, asking them to repent for their sins,” he said. But about four years ago, when a lesbian he knew from karaoke night confided to him that her parents had disowned her when she came out, Kurek felt that he failed her. “I feel God really kicked me in the gut,” he said. “She was crying in my arms and instead of being there for her, I was thinking about all the arguments to convert her.” Kurek’s reaction ate away at him, and he wondered what it felt like to be gay and so alone. So even though Kurek identifies as straight, he embarked on what one religious writer called “spiritual espionage.” He would live like a gay man for a year.

“It finally clicked,” he said. “I needed to empathize and understand.”

Now 26 and no longer homophobic, Kurek writes about his journey — one that included hanging out in gay bars and facing the disappointment of his family and rejection of his friends — in his memoir, “The Cross in the Closet.” He chose today, National Coming Out Day and LGBT National History Month, to launch book sales and has pledged to give some of the proceeds to a charity that helps LGBT youth who are homeless.

Mrmary Weighs In

My first question is that I dont have any issues with gays. I see nothing wrong with a guy like a guy, a girl like a girl, a guy dressed up as a girl who porks chicks, a guy who dresses up as a chick to pork guys, and all the other combinations that exist.  Ok that was the disclaimer.

Now my question is,

Can you live a year as a gay dude without taking it deep. ( Sorry I knew no other way to say that)  I mean. Other wise he is just flirting with dudes and jacking off to the reruns of the CMT (Country Music Television) awards, when no one is looking.

Like I imagine if my Caucasian friend Steve is gonna spend a year being black and then write about it, he just cant listen to some underground rap mix tapes. He would have to find a way to:

  1. get high blood pressure,
  2. wear a du-rag to get dem 360 waves,
  3. date a black chick without calling the cops over the course of that relationship, 
  4. be in  a pre-diabetic state is a must. 
  5. get friends and acquaintances of other races that completely ignore his cries for sympathy & tell him to just suck it up.
  6. Last but not least he has to pin all his hopes on  getting a loan from the bank that he will never get

Ok Seriously Now

I think if more people were willing to go that length to see what its like for people they generally dislike or know nothing about things would be much better than they are now at the moment. I think we have become a culture of people who shout opinion at each other one louder than the one opinion louder than the one preceding it without ever listening really to whats actually being said or to try and see what the other person has to offer to the discussion and debate. We are so obsessed with  supporting whatever ideology we adhere to and choose to follow, we don’t let ourselves be vulnerable to new ideas new ways of seeing, or just trying to sincerely see where this other person is coming from.

With that said

Im running an experiment. If any ladies want to know what its like to be in an inter-racial relationship by pretending and taking liberties with each other’s bodies let me know I have a number you can call and we can take things from there

MrMary

 

One thought on “Jocular Look @ Today’s News: Would Deep would you take it for Tolerance

  1. My first thought was: is he gay and afraid to show it, so he used this to sort of come out? The bottom line for me is that marriage is between a man and a woman. Or between two men. Or between two women. Two consenting people of legal age.

    I am not really hip to drag shows. But I’m not hip to strip clubs either. I don’t have any fun, is my point. Good luck on your experiment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

