If I had a super power it would be

tumblr_lvb8kk8aiF1qbialb

(DayDreaming here…..)

Basically it would be to temporarily change some one unique demographics.  Screw flying and shooting ejaculatory webbing out of my wrist and all that. So much of what we feel comes from our own unique experience. As great as that is we have to share the world with many people not all of which share our experience. We are criminally inept when it comes to empathizing with other people I feel this super power will help. Let me give you an example:

Women Hating Republican Politicians: Physiological Demographic Changes

I would take Republicans who vote against the interest of women and turn them into women, working hard but with crappy insurance premium and the dreaded blue waffle action going on.

NYPD: Ethnic Demographic Changes

I would make it mandatory for all cops to be able to read and fit into a single seat on the subway. I would make some cops black. I would make them all look like relatives and children of the ODB aka the OLD DIRTY BASTARD. Certain Black cops I would make them wear plain clothes more often to get shot and frisked when they are off duty.

Social Studies teachers: Reality Demographic Changes

Elementary social studies teachers are the quite blinkered.  I would give them various different ethnicity and make them work horrible labor jobs in Latin America, Africa some sweat shops in Asia.

This may work in areas that has been ravaged with hate for centuries like Northern Ireland, the Middle East, and who can forget that silent war between Dunkin Donuts and Krispy Kreme.

Completely Random thought

MrMary……………

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 thoughts on “If I had a super power it would be

  1. This was a very interesting post with great witticism. I enjoyed it and believe that your suggestions, not taken literally of course, could stimulate dialogue that could effect change. It would be great to see someone begin.

  2. Yes, it would seem that human beings learn compassion best when they experience the other side. Some people seem to be born with a genetic tendency towards sensitivity, but then environment makes a forcible impact as well. I tell my son to say ‘sorry’ and he does say it, but does he actually feel sorry? No, he feels angry. I tell my daughter to say ‘thank you”, but does she actually feel grateful? No she just wants me to praise her or get off her back. Why do we have to force our children to be kind, to be grateful, to be loving? Obviously for human beings empathy is a mechanical habit which is cultivated rather than an ACT which is fully Realized, felt, sensed, KNOWN. Yes, it’s an interesting thought to have that superpower, but will it change anything? Can you force empathy, love, kindness? I think not. Actually, empathy is nothing more than identifying yourself as the victim, therefore it remains a selfish reaction. Still, maybe it’s a beginning. Interesting read Mr. Mary. :-)

    • Rula my Dear,

      It’s so nice to hear from you. I missed ya :-) How are you, what happened to my favorite lone-sheep ?

      The thought for this super power came from the idea that for many people its hard to be sincere in their empathizing so its a mechanical thing. That were the super power would come in. Imagine if the people who were for the lynching of blacks woke up one day black and had to run from the law and the Klan, or had to be hosed down and beat down by cops. After maybe enough kicks to the head they might feel that maybe it was unfair and when they were switched back might approach race relations differently. With this said, i still think that its possible for pure and genuine empathy but its quite rare!!!!!

Leave a Reply

