I have always believe that like with anything, one should honor those who have come before us. Borges says what I am trying to say more succinctly of course:

The fact is that every writer creates his own precursors. His work modifies our conception of the past, as it will modify the future.

So before I endeavored to write my own poetry I sat with my precursors: Borges, Hugo, Mallarme, Baudelaire, Valery, Neruda, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Shakespeare, Villon, Rimbaud, Verlaine, Jimenez, de Vigny, de Musset etc.

poetry

I sat with them and read through their works. Of course I learned a lot from novelists, short story writers and essayists etc, but as we are speaking of poetry I won’t get into all that. I recently as luck would have it, ran into Wislawa Szymborska, the Nobel Prize winning poet and she had a lot to say on poetry so I thought I would pick the most salient things (to me) and put them here . Hope You enjoy it.

<!--nextpage-->