Edward Hotspur was eliminated from the 13 finalist from the blogging Idol contest and that really made me sad. His being a part of the blogger Idol contest gave it a legitimacy that is now gone. Let me explain. These below were the top 13 and many of the blogs are quite similar in that they discuss or talk about being a parent or being a parent with a vagina.  Below are some descriptions of the blogs taken from their websites:

  •  I am an elementary school teacher who decided to take some time off to be a full-time stay at home mom to my two boys–a toddler and a preschooler.
  • My name is {Deleted] and I am a father of 11 ……………….. fish and 3 daughters. Way too often my wife and I sit around and talk about parenting. After we are done crying, we laugh. All the emotions and memories inspired this blog.
  • Enjoy my irreverent blog. Share it with your friends. I have just found that raising a teenager, being 50, and having hormonal changes in the entire household is pretty damn funny. And, besides, it’s cheaper than therapy-and she sides with BC all the time anyway…
  • A blog about everything we love written by a team of really cool dudes and a cute lady named Tabi (video games sports, beer – all kinds of guy stuff)
  • I’m a born again princess that loves to write, cook , read, play Rock Band, mountain bike, homeschool my kids,  and amuse myself with the stories of everyday living. I share my fairytale life with my Super Hero husband, Nathan, and our three kids:
  • I’m a mother of 6. I have a growed-up adult spawn, twin teenage girls  a tween , a 7yr old ( Loki The Adventurer) and a toddler. Loki and Sir Snugglemuffin were born via wonderful unassisted VBAC births, with just me and The Daddy-Man present, just like when we made them.
  • My name is Matt, and I live with my family and a giant pile of laundry in Gettysburg, PA.  I gave up my 70 hour work weeks as a manager for a national retailer to be a stay at home dad for my little girl.  For over a year, I have been writing about my experiences on this blog.
  • I have noticed that when something happens in my daily life.It makes more sense to me when I have a cup of coffee in my hand, anyone who knows me, knows this. Coffee talk has always been one of my favorite things. A group of people sitting around drinking coffee and shooting the shit, can lead to some amazing discussions.  I would kinda like that feel here. Interactive. Bring yourself to the table and I will always sit and chat with you.
  • A mothers somewhat sarcastic journey to hipness
  • Just to tell you a little about myself – I’m a reasonably happily married, mom of three, reasonably young boys. I live in every town suburbia and I’m not embarrassed to say I love it. I drive a smoking hot, scratched up minivan generally cluttered with coffee cups, granola bar wrappers and children. I think nothing says hot mama like a 40+ woman in smelly, old gym clothes covered in yogurt and booger, traipsing down the fancy aisles of the supermarket.
  • I have loved to write ever since I made my parents laugh with the letters I wrote them from camp. I do some freelance writing and I am always looking for more work. So if you know a guy or a gal Thanks!
  • I am a 35-year old Brooklynite (by way of Connecticut and Boston) learning to deal with life as a new father and bitching about the ways the new found existence of my son – not to mention the myriad responsibilities surrounding that existence – is destroying my social life.

Observations and Suggestions

There are 3 blogs along with Mr. HotSpurs  who stand out from (The one about man stuff, the coffee talk one.)  Every blog is amazing of the 13 but there is not great diversity in subject matter.  Granted everyone has great style and writing and a really unique approach to talking about parenting which make them so awesome. But the blogosphere is filled with blogs of other  kinds of content which are not represented here. There are pet blogs,  there are news blogs, there are comedy blogs, there are music blogs,  social commentary/sarcasm blogs etc. A suggestion: it might be nice to have 7 categories and then there can be a finalist for each genre and an overall winner etc.

I am not a parent. I almost was once but my son died prematurely and my lady of 9 years afterwards due to the pain, sadness left me to go figure something out.  It’s hard for me to really relate to these blogs and reading through them makes me kind of sad to be honest.  It is because I had fun writing and meeting new bloggers through this competition that I made this suggestion.  I don’t and am not  speaking negatively about any of the bloggers involved. They all have my respect and are cool to read.

I turned 31 not to long ago, I have pets, I like to laugh, when I am not sick and bed-ridden I like to read, write, work out. I work a lot and am close to transitioning to a senior position. I am also a professor at a pretty celebrated university in NYC.  Being an undersexed heterosexual man I enjoy the ladies the same way one does an all you can eat buffet, yes with my face in it it be nice to have a greater range of bloggers and topics next year.

So my flag is at half mast, because I i just had a boner than has gone away and I am wearing basketball shorts, and because my homey Edward Hotspur has been eliminated.

To Mr Hotspur

I salute you!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta