As some of you know I love cooking. I was ready to start the enrollment procedure at the French Culinary which means begging some bank for a loan. But luckily due some some good work I did as an undergrad I got my graduate degree paid for. People really think I am smart and believe in me it seems. But I cook for fun, to entertain guest, and to relax. If I cook something for you then it means I like you, and we are cool. If I make a decadent dessert then it means you’re a lady and I want to put some stuff in your box for safe-keeping. If You are a female friend of mine I’ll make the dessert but u got to bring something, like a side or drinks etc. When I moved out of my place I put all my things in storage, my food processor, electric mixer. Today I was happy  I got a chance to cook and i tried to do the best with what I had which was sparse and so here is  my :

Gin Marinated Flank Steak

Paired with a Brooklyn Pilsner

First the Excuses

I made this at 2:30 Am last night. My parents came in late from work (pops is retired and mom still work the late shift at the hospital) My pops was looking for something to eat, and my sister since bought a rice cooker has been making rice like the shits goin outta style. We had some fancy arugula, baby spinach and fancy-bullshit salad.

The Steak

I dunno why but I bought flank steak a few days ago and decided to that since it is a dense kind of cut of meat i would marinate it for a bit, 2 days worth

Some Info about Flank Steak

The flank steak is a beef steak cut from the abdominal muscles of the cow. A relatively long and flat cut of meat, flank steak is used in a variety of dishes including London broil and fajitas. It is significantly tougher than the other beef cuts; therefore, many recipes use moist Flank steak is best when it has a bright red color. Because it comes from a strong, well-exercised part of the cow, it is best prepared when cut across the grain. Flank steak is frequently used in Asian cuisine, and in Chinese markets it is often sold as “stir-fry beef” because that is how it is usually prepared. Most stir-fried beef dishes in Cantonese restaurants are prepared with this cut of beef.
cooking methods such as braising.

The Marinade

I learned about cooking flank steak from an older chinese gentleman I am honored to call a friend. He informed to cut thin, and cook it on high heat on the wok and some other secrets I cannot give away. So i though to make a sorta asian inspired sorta marinade. this is important I guess because I ended up using a shot of gin in the marinade.

Marinade

  1. Ginger paste
  2. Crushed garlic
  3. Sugar or Honey
  4. The Juice from a can of pickled Jalapenos (lil bit)
  5. Salt and Black pepper
  6. A shot of Gin
  7. Soy Sauce
  8. Touch of Red Wine vinegar (optional)
  9. Red pepper flakes

I wanted to go with the spicy/sweet sorta thing. When you make flank steak and cook it too long it becomes tough and dry and taste like old vag, not that I have but imagine years of weathering use and pickling made it tough like a leather baseball glove.

The Gin

I am a big fan of Bombay Sapphire Gin. Why? because it is smooth and is infused with an interesting variety of botanicals. It has a pronounced spicy taste, a nice kick to it. There is Plymouth Gin which is great as well, but I really like Bombay Sapphire. Bombay Sapphire uses the following botanical: Juniper berries, lemon peel, coriander, almonds, orris root, cubeb berries, Cassia bark, Liquorice Grains of Paradise and angelica. Whats better is that these flavors are infused into the gin through an interesting vaporization process but anyways its a subtle of flavor and the spicy I wanted to use here

End Result of all this

The meat gets broken down a bit when sliced thinly and cut across the grin (provide you cook at most medium rare to medium) it will be very tender and just fucking amazing, and very flavorful.

The Booze Pairing

Lately I haven’t been drinking much wine, mostly beer and cocktails and I figured the steak and the sorta Asian space palette would go well with a cocktail or beer. I had a beer but if I was to make a cocktail to go with it it would be the following, and guess what Gin I am using…

Sweet Ginger Brown

(Makes 1 drink)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 ounces gin
1/2 ounce fresh squeezed lime juice
3/4 ounces liquefied honey or sugar water

Directions:

Shake all ingredients together in a cocktail shaker with ice. Strain and pour straight up or on the rocks. Garnish with a lime slice. Food pairing: This Sweet Ginger Brown pairs well with red meat such as steak or lamb.

taken from here: http://www.sheknows.com/food-and-recipes/articles/805328/gin-cocktail-recipes-paired-with-food

Note on the cocktail - this recipe uses no ginger but traditionally it had ginger in it. I am thinking a ginger infused simple syrup  would be used. Also I have seen this made with rum, however i think the fresh lime Juice, paired with gin, in particular Bombay sapphire which has a distinct citrus note make it really fitting for this style of marinated red meat.I would still use 3/4 ounce of my ginger infused simple syrup or a rich syrup 1/2 oz fresh lime  and 2.5 oz of Bombay Sapphire. I would add them to my shaker in that order as well.

The beer pairing Id go for here would be an American Red Lager or  an even better choice would be a  good Pilsner in these case Brooklyn Brewery pilsner  was quite good paring. Why you ask ? ….

Being a delicate, light, unobtrusive beer, Pilsners are incredibly versatile with a variety of foods. Its clean and crisp and provides palate-cleansing bitterness, high carbonation, and malty sweetness. It will cut right through a spicy dish such as Thai, Vietnamese, Indian, Mexican, or Jamaican food,

 

Finishing up

To cook a  good steak you have to  start off with the pan on high heat to sear both sides and sear in the flavors and juices. Also after it has reached the done-ness you’d like you have to let it sit for a 5 minutes otherwise if u cut it right away all the juices will come out and it will be dry. Another secret thing I do is I have a whole garlic glove in the pan and after I turn over the first time in my pan mid way through cooking the other side I add a table spoon of butter. I  then after it melts spoon it over the top of the steak. You would not believe how amazing this makes the steak taste. Also of course i use olive oil first to cook it. After I take  out the steaks I throw away the garlic clove add some finely diced onion, and some jalapeno from the can who juice i used in the marinade, and  I saute them in the pan that i just took the steak out of. After they get a bit transparent I add a little water ( you can add some stock or a little bit of the booze you to marinate just watch out for the flames) and u pick up all the flavors stuck to the pan. I added the marinade to the pan and reduce it down by half and then I strained it through a fine strainer  added a little thickening agent, but not much  use that for a sauce over the steak and voila. You could also serve this with grilled red potatoes and blanched asparagus or string beans seasoned with bit of salt/pepper and butter

 Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta