Note of Caution:

I want to explain how things work on this blog before I get into articulating some incendiary thoughts. From years of blogging, I have come to realise that I get off on comments from you the reader. However  I have noticed that if I have a great blog talking about the events of the day in a serious way, the comments drop, the likes are less, and I get some rather hateful message which as you can imagine, kill whatever comment inducing erection I might have had.
 
My solution is very simple, you see I’m a glutton for the few things I like, but the things I like aren’t free though. With that said I make payments on the blog, but a special type of payments. I make sarcastic sexually suggestive jokes about famous people,  daily life, and whatever catches my eye that I know people will respond to. In between some cunnilingus/dick/swallowing/taking it in the face/ wrong hole jokes, I drop a serious post. (This is the equivalent to slamming down a domino piece on the table to win the game for those of you who are interesting in analogies.) I still get to feed my gluttony but I still get to say something worth saying.
 

________________________________________

50 Cents and the Day No One tries to Remember

I ain’t gonna spell it out for you motherfuckers all the time. Are you illiterate nigga? You can’t read between the lines.

Reading in between the lines, that is the theme of this article.  I logged into Twitter and saw this tweet: Ok so I came down to Harlem & all of the stores are closed for Malcolm X’s Bday – I missed the memo :( As a matter of fact we all did a  long time ago. I didn’t even know it was Malcom X day of birth. He doesn’t get a national day or a more ostentatious declaration other than stores being closed in Harlem and a small group of people marching in Harlem some with  Mumia posters and the cops surrounding them, out numbering them according to the same Tweeter.

This is a bold statement, not the protest, but the nation-wide somnolence on Malcolm X. He is difficult to mass market nowadays, he was a Muslim which is a great faux-pas. He said things which made many people uncomfortable, like

“I don’t favor violence. If we could bring about recognition and respect of our people by peaceful means, well and good. Everybody would like to reach his objectives peacefully. But I’m also a realist. The only people in this country who are asked to be nonviolent are black people.”

I’ve never seen a sincere white man, not when it comes to helping black people. Usually things like this are done by white people to benefit themselves. The white man’s primary interest is not to elevate the thinking of black people, or to waken black people, or white people either. The white man is interested in the black man only to the extent that the black man is of use to him. The white man’s interest is to make money, to exploit.”

For the black community Malcolm X was a huge influence. He changed so much about the we see the ourselves and the place in the community. I grew up listening to his speeches, I read his autobiography in elementary and was really moved by him as a person. His life to me was the portrayal of the African American experience: Malcolm X’s father died—killed by white supremacists, it was rumoured—when he was young, and at least one of his uncles was lynched. When he was thirteen, his mother was placed in a mental hospital, and he was placed in a series of foster homes. In 1946, at age 20, he went to prison for breaking and entering.

A lot of America felt differently about him. I feel the what the NY papers wrote when he died speaks the best to what many people believed about him. The New York Times wrote that Malcolm X was “an extraordinary and twisted man” who “turn[ed] many true gifts to evil purpose” and that his life was “strangely and pitifully wasted”. The New York Post wrote that “even his sharpest critics recognised his brilliance—often wild, unpredictable and eccentric, but nevertheless possessing promise that must now remain unrealized.”

Reading Between the Lines

I wondered for many years why Martin Luther King was much more popular than Malcolm X. Granted the FBI tracked his every move hoping to prove the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. was under the influence of Communists. Actually to quote Pulitzer Prize-winning scholar David Garrow the FBI wiretaps wiretaps have “given us the most powerful and persuasive source of all for seeing how utterly selfless Martin Luther King was,” as a civil rights leader. The FBI paper trail spells out in detail the government agency’s concerted efforts to derail King’s efforts on behalf of the civil rights movement. Thanks to the freedom of information act once can peruse some of the information gathered on Malcolm X as well. But what does it all mean today some 40 -50 years later ?

It raises a lot of questions is it possible for someone anyone to fight for change at home without being wiretapped, surveilled, and having the government plot against them? Looking at how the cop acted during the Occupy Wallstreet Movement make me think, ‘no’. I wonder other things to like as a country are we ready to look at what a leader or even a group of citizens might?t point out. Can there be real debate not with the end of being right and wrong, but to discuss openly issue we are facing

It may seem in bad taste and a bit ironical to quote a line from 50 Cents aka Curtis Jackson, the drug dealer turned popular and  super successful rapper. But I wonder now in our age, can anyone really start and maintain any movement to change anything? Can we read between the lines now of what has been said by Republican Candidates about Blacks, or about Women, or Gays, and see what is really happening? I think that for me was part of the legacy of Malcolm X to question, to de-construct what is said publically, to never be satisfied with the status quo, to finally read between the lines of current social discourse

ok that’s it Peace


The New York Times wrote that Malcolm X was “an extraordinary and twisted man” who “turn[ed] many true gifts to evil purpose” and that his life was “strangely and pitifully wasted”.[187] The New York Post wrote that “even his sharpest critics recognized his brilliance—often wild, unpredictable and eccentric, but nevertheless possessing promise that must now remain unrealized.”