Since I received my Versatile Blogger award I have let get to my head because, I like it (head) the attention I mean. I want to employ my now infamous versatility to  speak  irresponsibly on  matters I am not qualified to speak on. So with that said, I will answer a question a friend asked me when I wasnt in full Mr. Mary Costume. My answers will go from the most ludicrous to the most insane.

Mr Mary, What do you think about the US Marine soldiers videotaped urinating on the dead Taliban soldiers?

First Answer: 

Our enemies are savages. So are we. First we learn to hate our enemies and bestialise them–and then we bellow our wrath and take our revenge when our enemies oblige us by behaving in exactly the way we expect them to. And then we torture them and humiliate them.

We have to make our enemies as inhuman as possible in order to first incite others to kill them and secondly to get the ok (sorta) from the public to justify the billions of dollars to finance war that could go to  address important/ pressing domestic needs. Warfare in its modern context also allows for the products of the machine to be usurped, controlled and used up for the effort without ever raising the general standard of living. Fortunately there is no Class warfare or unequal distribution of wealth in the US. If you are poor, cripple , sick, hungry, black or hispanic it’s your fault and the government doesn’t have to help you.

Second Answer

Since I left a bad neighborhood and don’t have to worry about getting stray bullets for free on the home, the worse thing that can happen to me  is I get pushed around on the train. Very different from being in another country with people plotting to kill you. I imagine being in Afghanistan was like being in Alabama from its inception till whenever the aftermath of the Civil Rights movement came to a particular  town – the different language, antediluvian thinking, being stuck in an abusive past. Most of us haven’t been in a  warzone or East NY  or some East Flatbush sections of Brooklyn. It is easy to sit behind our computers and judge the actions of our soldier ? No one wants to talks about the reality of war and what it costs the world at large so

Third Answer We are Conditions to Pee on Our Enemies by Speaking English

Though you can’t tell English wasn’t my first language. I grew up in a community of Carribean folk and was never let outside do to the violence, gangs, shooting and the over friendly cops all of which scared the crap out of my parents. So it wasnt until i won a scholarship to an all boys catholic prep school that I heard cursing and colorful phraseology that was 85% Caucasian and 15%  minority (Pacific Islander + Asian+Latino+ Black) that I heard the phrase ” i wouldn’t pee on that guy to save his life.”  Thinking about it, it means that its ok to Pee on a dude after his life has been taken. Speaking English and being exposed to such phraseology predisposes people to pee on dead people esp enemies who  have been painted to be monsters. Examples

  1. James Harrison (Football Player on the Steelers) “Wouldn’t Piss on Roger Goodell to Save His Life”
  2. I wouldn’t piss up your ass if your guts were on fire. – Urban Dictionary
  3. I wouldn’t piss on him if he was on fire – Urban Dictionary

A synonym for being angry is to be pissed off, a low class person is a peon -(Someone with the lowest social standing, such that commoners may pee on them with impunity – Urban Dictionary ) From Webster – Portuguese peão & French pion, from Medieval Latinpedon-, pedo foot soldier .  Pion in french is used for Pawn on a chess board and with that we return back to the battlefield

Fourth Answer Some People Get off by Pissing on each other

Maybe just maybe it was the wish of the dying soldiers was to be pissed on being that they were living in a sexually repressed Society.

For me life is like tofu it has no meaning or taste until you heap overly done sauces all over it.  Sometimes I wonder if the question we might ask time to time is whether or not there is any sanctity to life  really outside of the religious or spiritual questions and insinuations. Then we can really then once we decide figure out if enemies are human being their portrayals and if that is enough to treat the dead with respect

Mr Mary

Enhanced by Zemanta